A dozen filers beat the Noon deadline on Monday to round out a few slates of candidates for the upcoming 2019 cities and school board elections.

Deputy Election Clerk Kalee Vanderweide, Atchison County Clerk’s Office, reports despite a last minute rush of candidates, it does not appear there will be a need for a primary election in August.

The candidates who did file are guaranteed to see their names appear on the respective ballots for the Tuesday, Nov. 5, general election.

For the two 4-year and one 2-year terms open on the City of Atchison city commission, the hopefuls are:

Abby Bartlett

David Hausmann (incumbent)

J. David Farris

Luke Jesnowski

Charlie Perdue (incumbent)

Lisa Moody

William J. Murphy

Perdue, Bartlett, Moody and Murphy all filed on Monday. Hausmann filed on May 31. Jesnowski filed on May 22. Farris filed all the way back on May 2.

The cities of Effingham and Muscotah each have a full slate that includes mayor and five council positions. The candidates are:

Effingham: Justin O’Brien, filed for mayor on Monday; Harvey D. Fasse, David Lowe, Ross Montgomery and Kirk Wohlgemuth all filed in May; and Mark Hurst was the first to file for a candidacy throughout the county on April 18.

Muscotah: Brian Higley filed May 30 as the only mayoral candidate; three council hopefuls are Susan J. Higley, Darryl Hundley and Margaret Jacobs all filed for positions on Monday to join Dale W. Small and Dalia M. Wilson. Small and Wilson each filed toward the end of May.

Incumbent Huron Mayor Jaquetta Peak is the only candidate to file to maintain her lead spot on Huron City Council. There are five open council positions, meaning five blank lines on the ballot.

In Lancaster, voters will need to fill in the blanks lines on the ballot because not one candidate filed for any of the open Lancaster City Council positions.

The USD 409 Board of Education will have six candidates on the ballot, all at-large, vying for one of the three positions available. Josh Wheeler beat the deadline countdown on Monday to be the sixth to file. Among the candidates, sitting 409 President Herb Gwaltney is the only incumbent. Other candidates are Sally Berger, Stefanie Gardner, Pamela Rizza and John Bishop.

James R. Cormode filed for the at-large position on the USD 377 Board of Education on the last day to file. President Nancy Keith currents serves at-large. However, Keith filed for the Position No. 3 spot. Vice-president Barbara Chapman filed to retain the Position No. 1 seat and Greg Smith, incumbent, filed to hold Position No. 2.

Potential voters who will be 18 years old on before the general Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 5, may register to vote in the Atchison County Clerk’s Office at the courthouse. For information, contact the clerk’s office at 913-804-6030.

Mary Meyers can be reached

via mary.meyers@atchisonglobenow.com

or via Twitter @MaryMeyersglobe

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.